Home | History | Operations | Management | Landowners |
Copyright 2018 Colt Energy, Inc. | All Rights Reserved.
Management Team
Nick Powell

David Powell

David Bleakley
Executive Vice President

Amanda Phillips
Vice President, Accounting

Nick Powell - Chairman

Mr. Powell is the majority shareholder and Chairman of Colt Energy, Inc. Prior to forming Colt, Mr. Powell was involved in the management of Overland Energy, Inc. This company was a wholly owned subsidiary of YRC Corporation (formerly Yellow Freight System, Inc.) and engaged in investment in oil and gas exploration and production. In 1980 Mr. Powell founded Prairie Energy, Inc. (which was later merged with another company and became Prairie Resources, Inc.) until that company merged with Colt Energy, Inc. in 1990. Mr. Powell is a past president of the Eastern Kansas Oil and Gas Association (EKOGA) and currently serves on its board of directors and he is a past chairman and current board member of the Kansas Independent Oil and Gas Association (KIOGA). He is a founding member and past president of the Missouri Independent Oil and Gas Association (MIOGA) and a member of the executive board of the National Stripper Well Association (NSWA). Additionally, Mr. Powell sits on the Advisory Board of the Tertiary Oil Recovery Project (TORP) sponsored by the University of Kansas and is a former chairman of the Petroleum Technology Transfer Council North Mid-Continent section. Mr. Powell also serves on the boards of Country Club Bank and the Linda Hall Library in Kansas City, Missouri and the board of Powell Gardens, a public botanical garden 30 miles east of Kansas City. Mr. Powell received his B.A. in Economics from Tulane University in New Orleans in 1975. He currently resides in and is a native of Kansas City.